Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Arizona RV park residents get a break on utility charges

Many RV park residents in Arizona will get a break from high electric bills because of a new law recently signed by the governor. A.R.S. 33-2107 regulates the utility fees RV parks can charge their guests.

According to a letter in the Yuma Sun, many RV parks charge residents of RV parks as much as 15 to 19 cents per kilowatt hour. Under the new law RV park owners can only charge the same rate that is charged to a "single family residential rate" by Arizona Public Service, which is currently 8.5 cents per kilowatt hour.

The landlord can recover charges imposed on the park such as a service charge, taxes, etc., but it must be prorated to all in the park receiving electric each month and cannot include charges for electric in the common areas of the park, i.e., office, street lights, heating the pool, recreation hall, etc.

The landlord must post on the bulletin board a copy of the park's bill showing these charges. The landlord may charge an administrative fee for the actual charge of processing your bill each month. The landlord must credit you for overcharges on your next bill if it is found you were overcharged.

If you have questions, call the Arizona Association of Mobile Home Owners at 1-800-221-6955.